Old 06-23-2006, 09:15 AM   #1

Prince George , Virginia
motorhomes

I am new to the list. I am selling my sailboat and am contemplating getting a used 1993 to 1996 Airstream motorhome. I have been trying to gather information to make the best decision I can in a purchase. Can anyone give me the manufacturing differences on these years? Are there ones to stay away from? Does anyone have a Banks turbo installed and how do you like the performance and gas mileage. Is there a problem getting parts support for suspension and camper? And finially why do I want an Airstream verses any other brand? Any help will be appreciated.

Joel.

Old 06-23-2006, 09:47 AM   #2
3 Rivet Member

canton , tx
Hi Joel and welcome. I'm no expert on the "newer" motorhomes, I looked at a few and decided on an older ''1979'' motorhome instead. I love mine. I've heard that some of the newer models had leak problems. This is the place to get help. Sorry I don't know more. Perhaps you should check the older Airstream Motorhomes out. Good luck on your search. joe

Old 06-23-2006, 10:08 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member

1956 22' Safari
2000 39' Land Yacht XL Diesel w/slide
Crossville , Tennessee
Joel,
I have a 2000 390XL. It has a CAT 330 hp engine-great powerplant.
The older ones mostly have the small Cummins with the older technology. The chassis from around the 1996 models, and maybe even older ones, have Freightliner chassis under them, and are, for the most part very good. The parts are fairly accessible. Mileage is 8-11 mpg, with it mostly staying closer to the low side.
WBCCI #6673 jerry Hodge
Have no intention of arriving at the grave safely, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand,throttle in the other, totally worn out and screaming
"WOO HOO, WHAT A RIDE!"
steelbird312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2006, 11:32 AM   #4
RivetAddict

1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Louisville , Kentucky
Joel,