Old 09-19-2005, 09:31 AM   #1
Rivet Master

1984 28' Funeral Coach
Belleview , Florida
Univolt hummmmm?

I spent the better part of yesterday installing the new stereo / monitor. One of the more vexing problems that I've been avoiding has been a very distinct hum from the univolt. If I trip the gfci breaker that powers the univolt the hum disappears. Am I looking at a replacement? Any ideas as to how to get rid of this as the new stereo would be nice to listen to when I'm docked or when the univolt is in line while the generator is running. Thanks as always for the input...no pun intended.

Glen Coombe AIR #8416
1984 28' Funeral Coach
Former Rolling Showroom & PuttLab (now party bus)
"I'm not an expert. But I did sleep in an Airstream last night."
GlenCoombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 10:08 AM   #2
Round on both ends

1979 31' Excella 500
1975 28' Argosy 28
Rutledge , Georgia
Hummmmmm... must be a Univolt

Hi, Glen,

My Univolt hums, too, but it's keeping a nice steady 13.47 VDC and isn't boiling the batteries, so I'm not too worried about it. The hum is pretty normal.

Do a search for "intellipower" here, and you'll find that lots of other folks are allergic to the hum and lack of multi-stage battery charging of the Univolt. I'll let the other MH guys recommend what to replace it with if you feel so inclined.

Regards,

Lamar

2003 Dodge 2500 Cummins "TowHog"
"Lucy Loosehair" the cat - Airstream mascot
Klaatu barada nikto
SafeHarbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 11:05 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1966 26' Overlander
Woodstock , Georgia
you mean the stereo picks up a hum from the univolt? If that is the case perhaps a noise supressor would stop it. These are available at Radio Shack and such.
If you mean the normal univolt hum when its running, that is just part of its "charm".
AIR #005
Please visit our blogs and web pages:
OUR AIRSTREAM PASSION! BLOG
RESTORING AN AIRSTREAM
Our AIRSTREAM and TIN CAN TOURIST Rallys