Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-01-2004, 05:42 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1989 37' Airstream 370
Beverly Hills , Florida
Question Thermostat differences

I have a 1989 370 LE MH with a Ford 460 engine. I am debating changing the existing thermostat to a lower temperature thermostat. I am assuming I have a 185 degree in place now and want to change to a 160.

Is anyone aware of any issues I should consider before swapping them? I'm trying to lower my operating temperature. After flushing, filling and adding NAPAs version of Water Wetter, I still run 215 on the road. I'm wondering if a lower temp thermostat will help.

Any input is greatly appreciated.
Old 09-01-2004, 06:05 AM   #2
1 Rivet Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Danger
I have a 1989 370 LE MH with a Ford 460 engine. I am debating changing the existing thermostat to a lower temperature thermostat. I am assuming I have a 185 degree in place now and want to change to a 160.

Is anyone aware of any issues I should consider before swapping them? I'm trying to lower my operating temperature. After flushing, filling and adding NAPAs version of Water Wetter, I still run 215 on the road. I'm wondering if a lower temp thermostat will help.

Any input is greatly appreciated.