Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-21-2005, 06:37 AM   #1
Rivet Master

1984 28' Funeral Coach
Belleview , Florida
Rebuilt Carb jetting

Hey folks, it's time to go out and get the reman. carb for the AS. Can I get you all to chime in on what you've done to your rig for economy/power, etc.
Summit offer reman 750 Q-Jet with .69 primary or .73, I'm thinking smaller is probably better.
My local shop wanted over $500 to rebuild my old carb!!
I can buy a bench flowed reman for $300 and replace it myself. That's without checking local suppliers for lower price.
Also going to put in a one inch spacer for cooling and vapor lock protection.
Now it's your turn.... opinions?
Glen Coombe AIR #8416
1984 28' Funeral Coach
Former Rolling Showroom & PuttLab (now party bus)
"I'm not an expert. But I did sleep in an Airstream last night."
GlenCoombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2005, 07:06 AM   #2
RivetAddict

1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Louisville , Kentucky
Glen,
I looked into a replacement (rebuilt as well) but decided to attempt a rebuild of the existing QJet on my own. I'm glad I did. As long as the base plate does not have slack on the bushings you can rebuild yours in a weekend for about $50. I bought the book Rochester Carburetors ($12.89 at Amazon) which was a huge help. Bought a rebuild kit for my model QJet at NAPA for maybe $30. Read through the book on a Friday, dis-assembled and cleaned the carb on Saturday, rebuilt on Sunday. I did make a small mistake on the rebuild to deal with but it was easy to resolve.

It may seem like there are a lot of gizmos and levers and complexity, but it was actually pretty simple with the book in hand. I've been getting 8-9 mpg on my 345 ever since. (With headers, free flow exhaust, new distributor/ignition, Accell 9000 wires and stock plugs)