Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2006, 10:41 AM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Power Chips

Has anyone put a performance chip in a P 30 chassis motorhome? I have a 1996 30 Ft. Land Yacht that I would like to improve HP and torque. Thanks for any help you can offer.
__________________

__________________
Coachman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2006, 11:53 AM   #2
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,193
1996 should be OBDII, which theoretically should mean a "power chip" would amount to a reprogramming of the computer, commonly known as a "reflash".
The kit should contain the equipment to reprogram, and the equipment to deprogram the computer, should you decide to return it to it's OEM state. These kits generally run around $450 or so, depending on manufacturer and what the prgram alters.
__________________

__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2006, 12:59 PM   #3
Tom, the Uber Disney Fan
 
Minnie's Mate's Avatar
 
2006 30' Safari
Orlando , Florida
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,693
Images: 7
Personally, I am very leary of either of these...chips or reprogrammers. Seems to me that the engineers at the factories engineer them to be the most mechanically dependable so they won't have a bunch of failures on their hands. Are they at their peak performance, probably not. But then again a parachute operates at its peak performance just before you hit the ground.
__________________
2006 30' Safari - "Changes in Latitudes"
2008 F-250 Lariat Power Stroke Diesel Crew Cab SWB
Family of Disney Fanatics
WBCCI# 4821
http://streaminacrossamerica.com/
Minnie's Mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 09:46 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
1960 24' Tradewind
santa barbara , California
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,352
Coachman ,you can call Jet Performance or Hypertech for info on a chip.
Usually the chip plugs in between the PCM and the harness,Unplug PCM
harness ,plug the chip module in ,plug the harness back in .First you would disconnect the starting battery.Ive installed some of the JET chips in 2000
model GM trucks ,they should make one for your application.you will find most likely that there are different program stages available .you don't need a
stage 2 or 3 for you coach ,those involve headers and other mods to benefit from the programing .Banks offers a performance setup I believe for the 454
including headers and such so check it out.

Scott of scottanlily
__________________
scottanlily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 10:00 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
1960 24' Tradewind
santa barbara , California
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,352
Responding to Minnies Mate

If you remain conservative on the modifications of any kind ,you can benefit without causing problem with the coach.The Jet chips can be had in the stage one level ,they provide some recalibration features with regaurds to timing mainly and some fuel control but do not cause detrimintal effects,unless you feel that now you can exceed safe rpm limits and such .
mileage can improve or be less sometimes ,depends on the driving style.
The manafacturers go with a middle of the road most always .Improvements
most always can be made ,but 1996 and up or any engine in a motorhome
can be improved with exhaust enhancements and a chip. The vehicals are
heavy so any high power mods ,such as would be done with a lighter vehical
will NOT work effectivly on any motorhome .

Scott of scottanlily
__________________
scottanlily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 10:15 PM   #6
_
 
. , .
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,812
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachman
Has anyone put a performance chip in a P 30 chassis motorhome? I have a 1996 30 Ft. Land Yacht that I would like to improve HP and torque. Thanks for any help you can offer.
hi coachman and welcome to the forums...

before changing the programing, which is basically going to alter fuel management and shift points...

-upgrade the exhaust this is a must as a first step. long skinny pipes on the stock with lots of bends...bigger pipes mandrel bends and a freer flowing muffler will do wonders...
-add headers. again this will help a lot
-improve air intake. the stock isn't too bad, but k&n or some other free'r flowing system is a must.
-also need to cool the engine area some...it gets hot inside the dog box. more turbulence under the front end will bring cooler air into the area
-switch to syn oil and tranny lubricants....you WILL need these.

consider gearing modifications.... one of the over drive systems will help with towing and hiway cruising...

now after these changes,
you might be ready for a chip. or reprogramming,
but to do this first is asking for problems...

i made all these changes to my 454/p30 and the improvement was dramatic without chipping.
while chipping is quick, air is the primary fuel and more must enter and exhaust must flow freer for dumping more fuel in to be effective and safe.

just look at any of the 'banks systems' or other complete systems...
the chip/programing is not the key piece to 454 power enhancements...

cheers
2air'
__________________
all of the true things that i am about to tell you are shameless lies. l.b.j.

we are here on earth to fart around. don't let anybody tell you any different. k.v.
2airishuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 10:28 PM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
S C Streamer's Avatar
 
1964 17' Bambi II
Santa Cruz , California
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 319
Images: 13
Hey Scott,

Do you know of,or have any experience with the Hypertech HyperPac? http://www.hyperpac.com/features.php About $700.

I've been thinking about one for the Hemi, I really like the gauge feature. It would cost me about $250 just to install a trans temp gauge set up,and probably affect my warranty.





Mark
__________________
S C Streamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 10:57 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
1960 24' Tradewind
santa barbara , California
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,352
hello SC Streamer.

I don't have as yet,but the hyper tech power programmer is like that .This
unit is way more advanced ,as it allows a look into the PCM at all times .
Having the data available as to what the PCM is doing is really valuable
especially when reprogramming or chipping a vehical .You can monitor and
see the changes that are made and learn whats going on .It is pricy ,but
its another onboard system in the vehical ,I like the looks of it. Information
is the key to success at most things ,I like to have the knowledge of whats
gong on with the powertrain in the vehical.When doing diagnostic work ,I
go right to the data stream on my scantool after codes are pulled (if any),
even with a tuneup ,Ill do a data reference check .Anyway ,the warranty
would be affected I am certain ,immediately even if the repair is unrelated
to the hypertech unit. The dealer would not touch it.

Scott
__________________
scottanlily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 11:15 PM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
S C Streamer's Avatar
 
1964 17' Bambi II
Santa Cruz , California
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 319
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottanlily

Anyway ,the warranty
would be affected I am certain ,immediately even if the repair is unrelated
to the hypertech unit.
Thanks Scott,

Actually, I was refering to the installation of an analog trans temp gauge. The service manager told me tapping the pan for a sending unit would be a big NO-NO !

If had a problem while using the programmer , I'd reset everything back to stock,remove the programmer from my truck,then go to the dealer for repairs and keep my mouth shut.






Mark
__________________
S C Streamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 12:17 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
ROBERTSUNRUS's Avatar

 
2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7,270
Images: 18
Blog Entries: 51
Hi, S C Streamer. I wouldn't modify the trans pan. And unless the dealer can prove that your modification caused the damage they can't legally refuse warranty work. I would buy an aftermarket pan made for temp sender and if necessary put the stock pan back on before warranty repairs. And you're right; Return the vehicle back to stock and keep your mouth shut. I see it quite often where a customer comes to the dealer demanding that we fix his turbo under warranty, because Ford is known to have problems with them and "my modifications had nothing to do with it going bad." Talking like this usually ends up with the customer being sent down the street.

Bob
__________________
ROBERTSUNRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 09:06 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
1960 24' Tradewind
santa barbara , California
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,352
S C Streamer , Robertsunrus is probably talking about the 6.0 diesel turbos
and he is correct ,don't say anything.However ,on the trans temp gauge
deal ,get a new stock pan or aftermarket as bob says .modify that one
for a gauge ,definately want the temp gauge on your truck .the service manager most likley thinks you would be drilling a hole in the pan and hacking
things up ,you get a welder to tig weld a fitting in the new pan ,the tig will
give a better weld and a nice small bead on thin metal like the pan.you can
get fitting bungs for your gauge sender to weld on .If you need a trans warranty ,swap the stock pan back on ,no problem.

Scott
__________________
scottanlily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 10:46 PM   #12
4 Rivet Member
 
S C Streamer's Avatar
 
1964 17' Bambi II
Santa Cruz , California
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 319
Images: 13
Hi Bob and Scott,

The points that you bring up, and the cost, are what got me to look for an alternative to installing an analog trans temp gauge.

With the Hyperpac programmer you get;
1-the ability to tweak the drive train for better performance.
2-a code reader for " DTCs" and to monitor the PCM.
3-the gauge feature including the trans temp gauge,oil pressure,water temp etc.
The other features are kinda "bells & whistles",that others might find usefull.

A straight programmer (for performance) go for about $375 -$400. At $700 for the Hyperpac, I'd also get the diagnostic tools and the gauge feature without any installation hassles or warranty problems.

If or when I had to get warranty work, I could push a few "buttons",reset everything back to stock and remove the programmer from my truck and nobody would be any wiser.

$700 is pricey, but I think it would be cheaper and less of a hassle than installing all the hardware for analog gauges, with no warranty problems.

If I do get one, I'll let you know how it works.

Thanks for the input.
__________________

__________________
Mark

1964 17' Bambi II
2005 Dodge 2500 PowerWagon -5.7 Hemi
WBCCI #4207
AIR #11485

"you don't need a weatherman to know which way the wind blows" ~bob dylan
S C Streamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power boosters John Our Community 18 11-19-2002 04:54 PM
B190 Coach power problem Luckydog Sprinter and B-van Forum 21 11-12-2002 01:59 PM
towing and the Banks Power Pack kooblekidz Airstream Motorhome Forums 11 10-31-2002 01:09 AM
Power Jack Question 68 Suburban Jacks, Stabilizers, Lifting and Leveling 3 10-11-2002 07:05 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.