Old 03-16-2010, 09:58 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1977 20' Argosy 20
Lakeland , Florida
Smile New battery Argosy still will not start?

I have read lots of the threads and have gotten some ideas, but I still have questions. I hope my questions aren't redundant to too dumb!

I went out to start my 1977 Argosy 20' motorhome (The Peanut, Argosy 20' - 1977 Argosy 20' Photo Gallery) and nothing happened.

I replaced the engine battery with one that seems equivalent to the old battery. The engine now tries to start, but will not turn over.

What would be the first thing the check? Distributor cap, spark plugs? I am not a mechanic, but I am handy so I would like to see if I can find the problem myself.

Old 03-16-2010, 10:19 AM   #2
CLOUDSPLITTER "Tahawas"

2003 25' Classic
Zanadude Nebula , WNY
Thumbs up Welcome

Tiffany.

If by "equivalent" if you mean the same size, it may not be the same power.
Very important to have a proper battery with good wires and clean connections both at the battery and starter.

Is the starter cranking the engine at speed.... but it's not starting?

“After all these years the reason I continue to love Thanksgiving.....I still sit at the kids table.”
RLC

Sandra wanted to go to Cleveland on vacation,
but I’m the Husband, so we went to Cleveland.
RLC
ROBERT CROSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 10:33 AM   #3
2 Rivet Member

1977 20' Argosy 20
Lakeland , Florida
Smile New battery and er, er, er, er, er

Hi,

I wrote down the battery model, CCA, and CA and took them to the auto parts store. The auto parts man helped me pick a battery that is a 78 with a higher CCA and CA than my old battery. Could higher CCA and CA cause the engine to not turn over?

When I try to turn over the Argosy I hear a click and then er, er, er, er, er like the engine is trying, but it never starts. I can send a video of the noise if that would be better than my written sound effect.

Thanks for helping me!
Old 03-16-2010, 10:46 AM   #4
CLOUDSPLITTER "Tahawas"