Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2014, 02:07 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
Kevininwa's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
1978 28' Argosy 28
Edmonds , Washington
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 27
instrument panel lights

The fuse for our instrument panel lights on our 1978 motorhome keeps blowing out. It is a 3A fuse, and I've resisted the temptation to bump it up to 5. It lasts a few minutes when I replace it, so it is not an obvious (to me) short. I test it by turning them off and on, and it will eventually blow. Couldmit be the switch? There does not appear to be any easy way to get in behind it and test for shorts, so I'm looking for someone who may have run in to this before. Or I don't see much harm in stepping it up to a 5A fuse, or am I missing something?

I'd also like to add an amen to the complaints about the location of the fuse panel. The PO had a CB radio blocking it!
__________________

__________________
Kevininwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 09:26 AM   #2
3 Rivet Member
 
cmadmaxman's Avatar

 
1982 31' Airstream 310
Columbia , Tennessee
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 161
Images: 37
3 amps, I think is on the low side?! I replace all mine with LED's as well as all the running/tail lights.

I think the dash lights are fused along with the running/tail lights. I know when the fuse would go on mine, I had a line going to the back lights shorting out, and it would take out the dash lights as well. For many years that is how GM would do it. No dash lights, no tail lights!
__________________

__________________
Chris & Brenda, Members of the Christian Motorcyclists Association
AIR Member 12654
1982 310 MoHo
Many Years ago, 1972 Argosy 24' trailer
Our Toad, 96 Saturn SW2 (261,000 and still going )
cmadmaxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 10:06 AM   #3
2 Rivet Member
 
Kevininwa's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
1978 28' Argosy 28
Edmonds , Washington
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 27
I can barely see the wire on the 3A, so what's the harm in a 5A, right? The fuse panel and my wiring diagram both tell me the instrument panel is isolated. I'm wondering if I need to trace some wiring to see where it all leads to. I'm resisting the urge to pull the panel out and trying to make sense of the messy mass of wiring. I promised my wife no major projects until fall, so I'm looking for a quick fix (aren't we all?)
__________________
Kevininwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
control instrument panel switch ID funkill General Interior Topics 5 11-06-2013 02:08 PM
GM instrument panel issue Silvertwinkie Tow Vehicles 24 04-23-2008 07:44 AM
Instrument Panel Questions fwiz Mechanics Corner - Engines, Transmission & More... 7 09-05-2004 12:09 PM
Instrument panel lights cookieduster Mechanics Corner - Engines, Transmission & More... 1 08-28-2004 07:19 AM
Designing a new instrument panel 74Argosy24MH Mechanics Corner - Engines, Transmission & More... 21 09-05-2003 09:00 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.