Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Mechanics Corner - Engines, Transmission & More...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-08-2005, 12:38 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1984 28' Funeral Coach
Belleview , Florida
Flex Fan vs Electric??

As horsepower is the key I'm thinking about removing the clutch fan and going to an electric fan setup for cooling. I know about the woos of the electric fan stopping so the real question is.... Has anyone done this? What benefit did you see? On paper it looks like an economy booster. Where did you get yours? Is it worth the time/money to swap?
Thanks for the opinions.
Glen Coombe AIR #8416
1984 28' Funeral Coach
Former Rolling Showroom & PuttLab (now party bus)
"I'm not an expert. But I did sleep in an Airstream last night."
GlenCoombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005, 01:49 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1951 21' Flying Cloud
1960 24' Tradewind
West Coast , BC
Send a message via MSN to safari57
Not on a MH, but on my tow vehicle which has a 455 Pontiac engine, I swapped out the radiator for a new aluminum unit and found that helped for cooling but not enough so switched to an electric fan. Zircon, 3,300 CFM, and that brought the temp down another 10 degrees. No problems but I am always just a tad concerned about the electric fan going away on me and being stuck, but so far not a problem. I have not noticed a difference in available power as I've already got enough torque to tow down the road and up most hills without having to go into the secondaries or downshift. The electric fan is noisier outside the vehicle but not a lot.