Old 10-14-2007, 09:29 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1986 30' Airstream 300
B , Louisiana
4 barrel carburetor

While I was coming back from a camping trip, I noticed that my 4 barrel would not kick in as I was climbing a mountain. I had the gas pedal stomped down all the way, but nothing. I have never worked on a 4 barrel carb before, so I don't know about them. Does this thing have linkage that might be disconnected, or maybe a vacuum hose? What are some possibilities that may be causing the 4 barrel not to work?

Old 10-14-2007, 11:23 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1985 34.5' Airstream 345
Tujunga , California
Is it the carb, or is your transmission not dropping down a gear?

str8strm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 11:27 PM   #3
Site Team

, Minnesota
. . . and check the distributor also, maybe the spark advance is bound up.
Old 10-15-2007, 12:49 AM   #4
Rivet Master

2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
Hi, I have some possibilties for your four barrel concern. If you have a carburetor with vacuum secondaries and you have the gas pedal on the floor, you virtually don't have any vacuum to open them. At a slow engine RPM with a heavy load [going up hill] you would just bogg down with that much carburetor opened up. If you have a mechanical four barrel carburetor, they have an upper butterfly similar to a choke that will stay closed if there isn't enough vacuum to pull them open. And finally, most four barrels have a choke block that won't allow the secondaries to open when cold. And a choke problem [adjustment] can cause this to happen when the engine is warm.

Good Luck.

2005 Safari 25-B
"Le Petit Chateau Argent"
[ Small Silver Castle ]
2000 Navigator / 2014 F-150 Eco-Boost / Equal-i-zer / P-3
YAMAHA 2400 / AIR #12144
ROBERTSUNRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 02:49 AM   #5
3 Rivet Member

Vintage Kin Owner
colorado springs , Colorado