Old 07-08-2003, 06:13 PM   #1
Should I buy an Airstream Land Yacht?

I am new to the this forum, but thought I would ask my question to those who should know.

I am searching for another motorhome (currently own a 91' Fleetwood Flair) and after researching numerous models have found the 1992 -1998 Land Yacht's to be a strong overall choice which are also within our budget.

However, I have read posts (other forums) which talk about all of the problems with this coach. Freighliner recalls, Airstream recalls and NTSA recalls. Additionally, talk of frame to body separation, weak supports on water tanks, etc. etc. Can all of this be so?

I guess I'm looking for some confirmation from some of you who own these motorhomes that they are well-built and are worthy of an investment. I realize that, perhaps, responses may be bias; however, I also know that personal experience with a motorhome is really the only way to know its strengths and weaknesses.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Phillip C. Wise
Joplin, MO
Wiseacres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 06:28 PM   #2
Just a member
1978 28' Argosy 28
Tampa Bay , Florida
Send a message via AIM to thenewkid64 Send a message via Yahoo to thenewkid64 Send a message via Skype™ to thenewkid64
I do not own one, but I have heard the horror stories that you reference. Many of the older Land Yachts leak around the front windows.

There are members of the forum that have them, so you should be able to get it from an actual owner.

Brett G
WBCCI #5501 AIR # 49
1978 Argosy 28 foot Motorhome

Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something. -- Plato

thenewkid64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 11:55 AM   #3