Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-12-2005, 08:03 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1975 27' Overlander
Longview , Texas
V I N ???

I am very new to this Airstream thing, but I think I'm hooked. I have a 1975 or 1976 trailer. I am not sure the year. Where is the vin # on my trailer and can I tell year from this?
The rectangular plate to the right of door says; Land Yacht Overlander. With a number under it.
Is This the # I need???

Thanks, Scotty
ssww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2005, 08:42 PM   #2
Site Team

2002 25' Safari
Dewey , Arizona
Check out this link to VIN numbers. The second page has the format for all of the 70's.
http://www.airstream.com/airstream/p...pre1980vin.pdf

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2005, 04:23 AM   #3
Rivet Monster

1975 31' Sovereign
1980 31' Excella II
Sprung Leak , North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssww11
I am very new to this Airstream thing, but I think I'm hooked. I have a 1975 or 1976 trailer. I am not sure the year. Where is the vin # on my trailer and can I tell year from this?
The rectangular plate to the right of door says; Land Yacht Overlander. With a number under it.
Is This the # I need???

Thanks, Scotty
Scotty,
There should be two plates on your trailer one is under the window to the right of the door and the other is a square aluminum plate mounted low on the left front corner you VIN# number should look something like this:I31-T5J-3595. Which in my case translates to a Interational, 31', twins(rear bath) 1975 model, built in Jackson Center.
Also the square plate will have the build date on it too.

Aaron
WBCCI #XXXX AIR #2495
Why are we in this basket...and where are we going