Old 04-05-2013, 10:16 AM   #1
Wan'a be (soon) cruiser

Miramar Beach , Florida
Generator fitted on or into 25 / 27' Trailer

Appreciate comments regarding fitting a Generator (110vdc) onto or in a 25 or 27' Airstream trailor.

Obviously I'm new at this; your experience and suggestion are valued

Be safe!

Old 04-05-2013, 10:35 AM   #2

2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
A few people have retrofitted generators to their Airstreams, though the only ones I've actually seen evidence of are over 30'. With the relatively lightweight construction of an Airstream, I think that vibration and noise will be an issue to deal with, though it's not likely to be any louder than the AC. I'm assuming you meant AC and not DC, by the way.

How much generator you want/need depends on where you'll be using it. I went big because my main reason for wanting a generator is for AC during Texas summers. If you just want one for charging batteries while boondocking, a small/light external portable generator may be your best choice.

Mine is a Yamaha EF3000iSEB and the only time I'm not 100% happy with it is when I have to load/unload it. It may be my imagination, but I believe it's quieter than the 2000w lightweights, and I only need one to run the AC. Yamaha makes a "tweener" size 2400w generator that is more portable and many people use it to run their AC, but I got a deal on a lightly used 3000 so I don't have first-hand info about the 2400. Honda has popular options in the 2000w and 3000w sizes, but doesn't have an offering at 2400w (though they do have a lighter 3000w called the "Handi".)

Here's a link to one forums member's setup.

Zero Gravitas 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 11:06 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2002 31' Classic
Houston , Texas
Got One IN Mine