Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-20-2014, 12:18 PM   #1841
Rivet Master

1972 31' Sovereign
1975 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
Benton , Arkansas
I get it. When someone drops 50K or 100K on a trailer it is hard to watch it age, but it does.

The best compromise is to help it to age gracefully.

I can't say why, but any clear over a metal finish is subject to accelerated finish degradation.

My observation says this just is.

I doubt that my 72 had 5 square feet of the clear finish or traces thereof left on it.

J. Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 06:36 PM   #1842
Rivet Master

2012 30' Flying Cloud
San Antonio , Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Kline View Post
Why don't the older Airstreams corrode? My 2010 has it bad. I got nothing from the dealer or Jackson Center. You appear to blame us for not maintaining but I've been driving cars for 50 years and not since the "old days" do I have rust or corrosion problems. This is not MY problem, this is Airstream's problem, and they continue to ignore it. The Airstream name has historically denoted quality, but not anymore.
Matt, I feel sure no one was blaming "us", the owners. Every one of us (and I hate this comment, but I'll use it) feel your pain. I'm not going to repeat the words I used when I first found a good bit of Filiform on my brand new trailer, but I was pissed. However, you know what, no one who comes up to praise the Flying Cloud when we are camping notice any of the problems. I see it, but no one else does. Plus, It's surface only and does not effect integrity.