Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-06-2007, 02:17 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Dallas , Texas
Question Confused in Texas: what size trailer is best?

Hi everyone and thanks for reading my first post!

I am new to travel trailers (but not new to trailering). I have a 3/4 Yukon with the 8 liter engine and 3.73 gears for a 12,000lb towing capacity. I want to haul around a total of two adults and one child. Room for guests would be nice but not necessary. I want to take it to the beach "boondocking," and up to Taos Ski Valley as a kind of portable ski chalet. In addition I would like to take it camping in places with or without hookups. Most times we will be in the trailer 2-3 days, occassionally 4, rarely more than that. Finally, if the idea turns out that it doesn't work for us, I would like to be able to resell the trailer in a year without losing my shirt. So ideally I would like to find a 3 or 4 year old trailer if at all possible. On the other hand if we enjoy this as much as I think we will, I intend to keep it for many years. So with that as background, could you please give me thoughts on what is enough, and what would be too much trailer?

Thanks in advance, and also thanks--this is a great website for information!
tlwood99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 02:24 PM   #2
Always Airstreaming!

2005 22' Safari
1960 24' Tradewind
Anytown , Connecticut
Send a message via AIM to rickandsandi