Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-13-2018, 11:36 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2018 22' Sport
Bellevue , Washington
Any advice on using home septic to drain black water?

Does anyone have experience using a home septic system with a drain field (not a pump out tank or city line) to empty black water from their AS from time to time after trips? Info is sparse and the only issues I seem to see are capacity (we wouldn’t add much) and any AS tank solutions that contain enzymes or bacteria that would negatively alter the flora in our septic tank. Any expert thoughts?
Seattle206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 04:32 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 Interstate
Sneedville , Tennessee
I'm no expert at doing this, but am interested in having such a setup here. My thought would be to use a portable macerator or a Sewer Solution to chop up the solids. Then you could pump the mostly liquid through a smaller hose to the input of your sewer system. We don't use any type of chemicals in our toilet so that wouldn't be a concern.
Tincampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 05:01 AM   #3
Rivet Master

Lakes Region , New Hampshire
I do this at home, it works out great. At one point, my outflow pipe from the house collapsed, and when it was replaced they installed a clean out access tee, where it comes out of the house. This was about 5 years before our first RV, while I've never used it to clean out the pipe, it works perfectly for this.

As to capacity, there wouldn't be much difference, you plan to use it after trips, which indicates you haven't used the system while you were gone so it works out to the same amount