Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-10-2005, 07:00 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Yorktown , Virginia
Send a message via Yahoo to Rivetedude
1970's History Lesson Please?

Hello all. I just read a thread (New Vintage Owner) about one of our members just making a purchase of a '79 Ambassador. I have a '72 Ambassador and the thread listings under Ambassador list them as early as '59.

Now a guy at the Airstream Homecoming told me that the Ambassador was a rare breed of Land Yacht. I only saw one other at the homecoming and I haven't seen that many in here and it kind of re-enforces what this gentleman told me, but if Airstream made Ambassadors for at least 20 years, there should be tons of them!

Maybe Fred Coldwell might oblige by chiming in here, but what I'd really like to know is a little history about the 70's Airstreams and the Ambassador along with the other models (Sovereign, Overlander, Excella, Safari, and Tradewind) made in the 70's.

What kind of numbers was Airstream putting out on these models in the 70's? What made them different from each other?

Any information anyone might have would be greatly appreciated.

Thanx!

Go US Coast Guard!!!

"Keep You're Tin in the Wind"

My Photos
My MySpace!

Rivetedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 07:44 AM   #2
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
Ben, the Ambassador was not as plentiful as the other models. It was a tad shorter than desired for the "park it and live in it" crowd, and too long for the vacationers. The reason relatively more seem to be out there now, is that the ones that were built, tended to not be used as much, and so are in better shape.AFAIK, Airstream considers production numbers proprietary, so actual real numbers may be tough to come by, especially year by year.
Old 11-10-2005, 12:37 PM   #3
Rivet Master

San Angelo , Texas