Airstream Chat Room Airstream Links Campground & Product Reviews Airstream Classifieds Airstream Articles Blogs Photo Gallery Forum Listings Portal - Home Page

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Marketplace > For Sale & Wanted




Check out our new sister site AirstreamCentral.com. To contribute an article click here.


Quick Links
- Forum Listings
- Register - it's FREE!
- View Member's Map
- Airstream Articles
- "Live" Chat Room
- View Classifieds
- Post a Classified
- Airstream @ eBay
- Upcoming Rallies
   - Add A Rally
- Rally Discussions
- Repair Discussions
- Search Forums
- Member List
- AIR # Directory
- Member Search
- Profile Photos
- Airstream Photo
- Airstream Links
- Fun & Games
- WBCCI Websites
- WBCCI Unit Forums
- Courtesy Parking
- Campgrounds
- Support & FAQs
- Community Policies
- Helpers Needed




 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2003, 04:02 PM   #1
InsideOut
Rivet Master

InsideOut's Avatar

Profile:  1964 19' Globetrotter
1956 22' Safari
Only Airstreamer in Edgewater , Colorado
Posts: 8,854
Images: 87

Thumbs down Buyer Beware!!!

As I frequently do, I check-out & follow Airstream related items for sale on ebay. Today, I was shocked to see several photographs of Maxwell from my website being used to sell a similar trailer.

Vintage 1964 Airstream Globetrotter,19 feet

I have not given this seller permission to use these photos and in no way am I involved with this sale. My concern is that this seller may not be completely honest in their listing if they are using pictures from my copyrighted website for personal gain without permission.

Shari
InsideOut is online now  
Old 09-29-2003, 04:10 PM   #2
yukionna
Rivet Master

yukionna's Avatar
Profile:  Massachusetts
Posts: 4,139
Images: 18

Thanks for the heads up. I'm not surprised about the photo stealing as eBay seller's are notorious for that. I have actually had people steal my auction photo's and use them in their own auctions! Which photos are from your website?

P.S.
Did you know that you posted this thread twice?
yukionna is offline  
Old 09-29-2003, 04:16 PM   #3
drboyd
4 Rivet Member

drboyd's Avatar
Profile: 
Posts: 331

I guess I'm missing something. It looks like the "floor plan" is the same, like maybe he got it from the same place you did, or got it from you. But it's clearly a different trailer.

Which photos are copied?

Don
drboyd is offline  
Old 09-29-2003, 04:22 PM   #4
InsideOut
Rivet Master

InsideOut's Avatar

Profile:  1964 19' Globetrotter
1956 22' Safari
Only Airstreamer in Edgewater , Colorado
Posts: 8,854
Images: 87

drboyd

You are right, although the plan is also copied, it's a picture from the 1964 A/S brochure...I don't have an issue with that one. The ones I have an issue with are the last three, after the warranty photos:

1. The turquoise front gaucho
2. The front with the gaucho removed
3. and the turquoise side gaucho

These are from my copyrighted website in the "Before" and "During - Flooring" sections.

Shari

BTW, I have complained to ebay and also sent the seller an email to remove them...
InsideOut is online now  
Old 09-29-2003, 04:30 PM   #5
yukionna
Rivet Master

yukionna's Avatar
Profile:  Massachusetts
Posts: 4,139
Images: 18

I don't know if this "makes it better" or not, but the seller does state in his listing that the last two photos aren't his. Here is an excerpt from his listing...

"The 2nd to last photo shows a before and after of someone elses Restoration of the Dining Area and the photo below that shows the Seating area as they restored it also, just to give you an idea. "
yukionna is offline  
Old 09-29-2003, 04:31 PM   #6
InsideOut
Rivet Master

InsideOut's Avatar

Profile:  1964 19' Globetrotter
1956 22' Safari
Only Airstreamer in Edgewater , Colorado
Posts: 8,854
Images: 87

I read that...

However it's still misleading and they don't have permission to use my photos for their personal gain.

Shari
InsideOut is online now  
Old 09-29-2003, 04:41 PM   #7
Tinsel Loaf
Rivet Master

Tinsel Loaf's Avatar
Profile: 
Posts: 753

If you publish someone eleses work that is copyrighted on a public site you must get permission to publish it. That's the beauty of a copyright, it belongs to you. The other guy can get their own photos. Like it's really not that that hard.
Tinsel Loaf is offline  
Old 09-29-2003, 06:11 PM   #8
Edie
Rivet Master

Edie's Avatar
Profile:  Dallas , Texas
Posts: 561
Images: 19

Thumbs up Way to go, Girl!

Something you did worked, because your photos are no longer on the ad.

I think it's important that people know that copyrighted information is just that, someone else has the rights. Making money isn't wrong. Buy making money off of somebody else's talent/effort without compensation is definitely wrong.

I purchased 2 crochet patterns and 1 knitting pattern from someone on eBay. She sent a photo copy of each from the original book. If I knew what book it was out of, I'd contact the publisher and the author(s).
__________________
Edie
Edie is offline  
Old 09-29-2003, 06:36 PM   #9
InsideOut
Rivet Master

InsideOut's Avatar

Profile:  1964 19' Globetrotter
1956 22' Safari
Only Airstreamer in Edgewater , Colorado
Posts: 8,854
Images: 87

I just received the following email from the seller...
Quote:
OK OK I am sorry. I just wanted to show the people WHAT A FABULOUS Job could
be done to this trailer. I didnt mean any harm. I have removed the photos. I
apologize. I didnt see that they were copyrighted.
Thanks for bringing it to my attention/.
Ebay doesnt allow us to put URL's or website names in our description, I
would have liked to had a lnk to your site and others to show how nice to
restore but its not allowed. Please understand.
Gabriel
Shari
InsideOut is online now  
Old 09-30-2003, 07:51 AM   #10
COArgosy78
Obsessed with Moonunit

COArgosy78's Avatar
Profile:  1978 Argosy Minuet 6.7 Metre
Love It Here , Colorado
Posts: 635
Images: 45

Sounds like an honest mistake and quite a compliment to you Shari, on all your hard work!! Good that you took the time to help him correct it, since you never know who or what is out there! I've seen several pics from our Pic Gallery used on other sites. Just saw one on an Argosy website a week or so ago. E-mailed the webowner suggesting he might want to contact the trailer owner, but got no reply and don't think anything has changed. Maybe I will e-mail trailer owner here and let them know. Leigh
COArgosy78 is online now  
Old 09-30-2003, 09:10 AM   #11
InsideOut
Rivet Master

InsideOut's Avatar

Profile:  1964 19' Globetrotter
1956 22' Safari
Only Airstreamer in Edgewater , Colorado
Posts: 8,854
Images: 87

For the most part, I don't have a problem with folks referencing my site or using my photos, unless it is for financial gain. The exception is the photos that are individually copyrighted by others, as the RM News photos are. Those can not be used at all, without written permission...even I had to pay and get permission to use them, even though they are of my trailer.

The issue I had was with his using my pictures for personal financial gain, to sell his trailer, without permission. Not to mention that he had misrepresented that they were of a restored trailer...they were the "Before" pictures of original A/S furniture which was not included in the sale of his trailer. I just felt it was deceptive...I appreciate his reply, apology & removal of the photos.

One other misconception he has is that:
Quote:
"Ebay doesn't allow us to put URL's or website names in our description, I would have liked to had a link to your site and others to show how nice to restore but its not allowed."
I have linked to relevant websites many times in my ebay listings, without repercussion.

Anyway, no hard feelings...all is well.

Shari
InsideOut is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seller BEWARE! Jon Smith For Sale & Wanted 48 12-22-2004 05:39 PM
Airstream buyer in western NC RichardT For Sale & Wanted 4 04-07-2004 09:34 PM
Beware Vw Coloradobus Off Topic Forum 40 03-20-2004 07:53 AM
Beware of 1965 17' Caravel advertised on www.airstreams.net Oceancontainer For Sale & Wanted 28 07-29-2003 12:14 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.0.1

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:39 PM.

Other Social Knowledge forum communities:
Cooking Forum - Sailing Forum - Early Retirement - Airstream Trailer - Aquarium Forum - Royal Forum - Book Forum - Volkswagen Touareg Forum - Jeep Wrangler Forum - Whitewater Kayaking & Rafting Forum - Fiberglass RV Forum - RV Forum - Truck Conversion - U2 Music Forum
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.

eXTReMe Tracker

Other recommended Airstream sites:
Airstream Forums - Airstream Classifieds - Airstream Articles
Airstream Central - Airstream Photos