Old 06-20-2005, 11:10 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

New Caravel Owner

Hi,

Just recently the high bidder on a '67 caravel

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...RK%3AMEWN%3AIT

I'm new to airstreams . . . would appreciate some critical observations from a "purist" perspective . . . missing items, non original items, etc.

Thanks!

Old 06-20-2005, 11:40 AM   #2
Arr, we captain our ship!

Currently Looking...
Santa Fe , New Mexico
Hi Nitty,

Congrats and welcome to the family! I once owned a '67 Caravel. Loved it.

I don't think your painted roof is original. The awnings were added later. The shelf above the fridge was added. I don't know what the circular patch is in front of the water heater... any ideas? And, I suspect Andy will affirm that you need a new axle.

You're off and running! As an old aficionado told me, use it and enjoy it!

Old 06-20-2005, 11:46 AM   #3

1968 17' Caravel
Battle Ground , Washington
The patch is covering the exhaust hole for the Hydroflame heater. Looks like it's been replaced by a catalytic.

Looks like a nice Caravel. Welcome to the forum!

Stefrobrts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2005, 02:22 PM   #4
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Nitty.

It appears from the E-bay photos that the axle needs replacing.

Older Bambi's and Caravels are having axle failures, beynd normal, due to the smaller construction, of the axles.

We are replacing them at the rate of over one, per week.

Andy
Old 06-20-2005, 03:17 PM   #5
Arr, we captain our ship!

Currently Looking...
Santa Fe , New Mexico
What did I tell ya?
Old 06-20-2005, 03:27 PM   #6
Rivet Master

1958 30' Sovereign of the Road
Plymouth , New York
Send a message via Skype™ to robandzoe
Welcome

I was watching that baby! We have a 65 Caravel. What are your plans? Ours is in flux right now, working on it when I can. I bought it for the wife to get her into it...to go out with her girlfriends....I just have to get it ready to go.
http://bakersacresofchenango.blogspot.com/