Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-20-2002, 11:13 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

another Caravel owner

Hi

My '68 Caravel wants to join in.

I'm a designer living in MI. The Caravel was built in CA and lived in sunny Pasadena.
I am the third owner. I drove to CA and towed it back home. Of course, after doing some preventive maint. so the wheels/bearings didn't go their separate ways while driving through a canyon. Three days of driving. It was still on the hitch when I drove down my drive. Minus one hubcap which is now a pancake somewhere in CO.
It has not been "customized" in any way, other than futons being made to replace original foam cushions. I would rate the interior an 8.5 out of 10. Exterior an 8. All systems work just fine although the Armstrong factory air needs a recharge.

The only thing I do not like about this year is the vinyl covering over the interior aluminum skins. I much prefer zolotone. The vinyl is cheapo looking. Someone must have felt it would save a few dollars or thought that if someone threw up on the ceiling it would be much easier to clean.
Old 05-21-2002, 09:46 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1956 22' Safari
2015 27' Flying Cloud
Vintage Kin Owner
Conifer/Evergreen , Colorado
Lightbulb Vinyl Clad Interior

Actually...if the vinyl is adhered securely, you can apply zolatone right over it. Saves the major hassle of removing it and the adhesive.

Shari
InsideOut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2002, 04:10 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

Thanks

Hi Shari

Thanks for the suggestion. And you are totally correct. Zolotone or Plextone can be applied over this type of wallcovering.
I was bothered more by the sticky feeling of the vinyl than anything else. I was told to use Future Floor polish on it. I did and presto, all better now.

David W.
Old 05-29-2002, 09:12 AM   #4
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California