Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-23-2005, 09:56 PM   #1
_

. , .
visited CAT scales - the numbers are in...

hi folks

just back from an 8 state 2 week loop that included 4 days at the mother ship for service and tours.....i have lots to post and as soon as i figure out how to upload pictures, i'll share some really neat stuff.

about 2 hours from home today i stopped for diesel and there was the scales......staring at me and me back at them. i looked at them for 15 minutes and no trucks boarded, so......

paided for my fuel and asked,

"how busy are the scales" and the reply was,

"this time of day they are hardly ever used but in 3 hours they'll be really busy. wanna weight that pretty trailer?"

"i do but i've never done this before.....will you be gentle"

the attendant laughed and said,

"go pull your trailer around and i'll send someone out to help you."

so with that i looped the truck stop, weaving between trucks and pumps and people and rolled up onto the platform....or i should say 3 platforms.

i explained to the young fellow that came to help that i wanted to weight the whole thing 3 times while i adjusted the load bars......"not a problem", he replied because the 3 platforms measure steering wheels, drive wheels and trailer wheels weights individually and as a total for all 3.

i could do all of this without moving off the platform......cool

now for the players:
---2005 f250 psd 4wd supercrew long bed with long camper, shell bed liner, a full load of gear (generator, 12' ladder, bikes, tools, 3 chairs, 3 tables, gas grill, 20# lpg, more tools, gas can, diesel can, bike repair stand, dog and me and 38 gallons of fuel. oh and ENKAY flaps, hensley bar and lots of other stuff! factory curb wt approx 7400 before adding STUFF....gwr 10,000, gcwr 23000, max trailer wt 12,500.